A Brief History of the Iota Alpha Lambda Chapter

In January, 1966, under the leadership of the late Brother Francis Harold Harris and fourteen (14) other Alpha men, the Iota Alpha Lambda (IAL) chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated was born. It was chartered by the General Organization on November 11, 1966 at the Grace United Methodist Church in Aberdeen, Maryland to serve both Harford and Cecil counties.

The IAL was presented to the chapter by Brother Tom Hunt, the Eastern Region Vice-President with Brother Frank Ellis of the Delta Lambda Chapter (Baltimore, MD) delivering the keynote address.

From 1966-1968 Brother Harris served with distinction as the Chapter's first President. He led the chapter in continuing the traditions of the General Organization. Programs and activities were started that helped stimulate the ambitions of the less fortunate, to encourage the highest and noblest form of manhood, and to aid downtrodden humanity in its effort to achieve higher social, economic, and intellectual status.

Since its beginning, Iota Alpha Lambda has more than doubled in size and has initiated several men into the House of Alpha. The Chapter has visibly demonstrated its commitment to the aims of Manly Deed, Scholarship, and Love For All Mankind in Harford and Cecil Counties by a variety of educational, civic, and social action programs.

Of particular significance are its full-time, two-year scholarships to Harford and Cecil Community Colleges in the name of charter member, Donald J. Walden, its full support of the Sickle Cell Anemia Walk-A-Thon, its Life Membership in the NAACP, its benevolent programs for deserving youth, families, and others in Harford and Cecil Counties.

Charter Members were:

Ronald Bishop*                    

Ernest J. Brown, Jr.
William M. Clark, Jr.*          

William E. Davis
Louis L. Duncan*               

Francis H. Harris*
Kenneth V. Hilton              

Johnny R. Law
Roosevelt McKinley, Jr. *  

Lehman H. Spry*

George T. Stansbury        

LeRoy Stansbury*
Wardell V. Stansbury       

Donald J. Walden *
Everett D. White